IP Consulting

IP Due Diligence

An IP due diligence can be defined as the evaluation of a company’s legal position with respect to its intellectual property rights. An IP due diligence most often occurs within the context of corporate portfolio measures, so-called mergers and acquisitions (M & A). An IP due diligence can also occur when an investor, such as a venture capital firm or a bank, is contemplating a capital injection into a company. This type of IP due diligence is often focused on establishing the value of a usually fledgling, cash-strapped but technologically innovative company.

An IP due diligence involves the meticulous evaluation of all intellectual property rights held by a company. This includes, for example, for United States patent law an evaluation of United States patents and applications and United States trademarks and applications. Issues frequently raised include whether a patent is still in force, whether a reexamination proceeding is pending before the United States Patent and Trademark Office, whether an invalidity action is pending before a United States court of law, whether a company’s products fall within the scope of a patent’s claim language or whether competitors are hindered by a patent. A company’s IP-related agreements, such as license agreements, confidentiality agreements and research and development agreements, can also be the subject of review.

Dr. Thot’s work as an M & A attorney in Düsseldorf as well as his tenure with the Bayer AG and Lanxess Deutschland GmbH corporate patent departments in Leverkusen provided him with wide-ranging experience and expertise in conducing IP due diligence reviews in acquisitions (purchase and sale), restructuring and portfolio measures.

IP Consulting

IP Due Diligence

Eine IP Due Diligence ist die Prüfung der rechtlichen Position eines Unternehmens in Bezug auf seine gewerblichen Schutzrechte. Dies findet meistens im Zuge von Portfoliomaßnahmen, sogenannten Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), statt.  Eine IP Due Diligence findet aber auch häufig dann statt, wenn ein Geldgeber, z.B. eine Venture Capital Firma oder eine Bank, eine Investition oder ein Darlehen an ein Unternehmen tätigen möchte. Eine solche IP Due Diligence zielt dabei darauf ab, die Werthaltigkeit der oft jungen  und technologie-basierten Unternehmen festzustellen. 

Bei einer IP Due Diligence werden alle gewerblichen Schutzrechte eines Unternehmens genauestens unter die Lupe genommen. Dazu gehören in Bezug auf das US Patentrecht US Patente und Anmeldungen sowie US Marken und Anmeldungen. Häufig gestellte Fragen sind dabei, ob ein Patent in Kraft ist, ob ein Reexamination-Verfahren läuft oder ob das Patent vor einem US Gericht angegriffen wurde oder wird, ob unter dem Patent gearbeitet wird oder ob Wettbewerber vom Patent wirksam gestört werden. Auch können IP-bezogenen Verträge, insbesondere die Lizenzverträge, Geheimhaltungsverträge und Forschungs- und Entwicklungsverträge eines Unternehmens dabei überprüft werden. 

Seine Tätigkeit als M&A Anwalt in Düsseldorf sowie seine Industrietätigkeit bei verschiedenen deutschen Patentabteilungen in Leverkusen nutzte Dr. Thot dazu, weitreichende Kompetenz mit der Durchführung von IP Due Diligences bei Akquisitionen (Kauf sowie Verkauf) sowie der Begleitung von Umstrukturierungen und Portfoliomaßnahmen in Bezug auf das gewerbliche Rechtschutz aufzubauen.